Book Meme ~ Written Worlds

…Come with me, we will travel the worlds of the written word…

Worlds at Your Fingertips

In what has become my particular fashion, I am sneaking in my offering to Strawberry Singh’s Monday Meme just before a new Monday begins.  This one is far too dear to my heart though, to let it slip by.  Between some real life upheaval and some system issues, I haven’t been able to spend much time in world or taking shots.  Now though, with a brand new graphics card in my rig I made this post my priority.  So without further rambling… my meme!

  1. Are you a bookworm? – I would consider myself a bookworm from a long and dedicated line of bibliophiles.  When I was a child, books were read to me every night yet for a time as a teen I rebelled against the love of books.  After a time when all the forced reading inflicted by public education had passed, I renewed my passion for reading once more.  I am a slow reader because of this rebel phase and that frustrates me so much.
  2. Which do you prefer: hardcover, paperback or electronic? – Honestly I like them all.  I love the smell and feel of a book but I do appreciate the convenience and portability of an electronic file.  I think I’ll always prefer a physical book and for the classics that should be a hardcover.  I refuse to let books vanish from the world, I can’t do much about this but I will keep my library and speak out strongly about the virtues holding a novel in your hands.
  3. Which book is your favorite? – I adore the Black Jewels novels by Anne Bishop.  These stories have stayed with me for for many years and every time I reread them I fall in love all over again.
  4. Which children’s book is your favorite? – This is a tough call.  As a very small child it would have to be La Corona and the Tin Frog By Russell Hoban.  While it isn’t truly a children’s book, I loved my grandmother reading Watership Down By Richard Adams to me.
  5. What’s the last book you’ve read? – My life has been a bit hectic lately so I haven’t been reading as much as I’d like, but the last full book I was able to read was Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins after seeing The Hunger Games.
  6. Name your top five favorite writers: – Mercedes Lackey, Anne Bishop, C.S. Lewis, Jane Austen, Anne McCaffrey just to name a few.
  7. Name a book that had a strong impact on you: – I’d have to say almost every book I’ve ever read or had read to me has had a strong and lasting impact on me and my view of the world.  As a child some of the books which were read to me that truly stayed with me were, The Dragon Riders of Pern, The Chronicles of Narnia, and the above mentioned Watership Down.  Some of the stories I’ve read myself that have helped shape me were the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series, The Black Jewel’s series, and the Hunger Games trilogy.Absorbed
  8. Favorite & least favorite book genres? – I am a sucker for fantasy novels, I love being transported to another world and viewing my own from that perspective.  My least favorite genre would have to be text books!!  No matter how interested I am in the subject matter, the format will always shut my brain down I tell ya.
  9. Favorite & least favorite book-to-movie adaptions? – I don’t think I’ve ever seen a movie that truly captured the world I envisioned in my mind.  I do however appreciate that films bring more attention to good books and I hope they keep trying.
  10. Have you ever bought a book based on the cover alone? – Yes, I’m guilty of this and I have about a 50/50 ratio of buyer’s remorse.
  11. Where do you usually buy your books? – My big three are Amazon, Powell’s, and Barnes and Noble.
  12. Do you go to the library? – I do for sure, when I have time.  I support public libraries as much as I can and I hope we never live in a world without them.
  13. How many books do you own? – … let’s not put a number on this.  Instead lets just say my very small apartment has one shelf crammed full, stacks overflowing on every table and close to fifty boxes in storage.
  14. If you were to write a book about Second Life, which topic would you focus on? – It would probably be a work of fiction and would probably follow the adventures of an avatar in the role play worlds of SL.

Credits:

Hair ~ TRUTH HAIR Renata

Necklace ~ MG – Necklace – Angelika (Maxi Gossamer)

Ring ~ ::C’est la vie !:: square ring(silver) mesh

Bracelet ~ SLX Outfit Lace-Up – Bracelet (DuckNipple)

Shirt ~ coldLogic shirt – welchel.quantum pack

Pants ~ coldLogic pants – mayne.soot

Held Books (with pose)~ {Imeka~} My Vintage Books

Book Shelves ~ Dutchie library

Couch (with pose and book)~ MudHoney Sydney Sofa – Brown

~liat

Leave a Reply

